Old Country Recipes

Arroz con Leche (Rice Pudding; Gluten-free, Dairy-free)

Rice pudding is one of those things that everyone has their own version of, each place claiming to be its place of origin. I don’t have the slightest clue as to who came up with it, but seeing as Mexicans think they did, I shall include the recipe for independence week.

This particular recipe is altered from the “original”. As I don’t believe it’s really authentically exclusively Mexican, I don’t feel the need to stick to its traditional preparation. Instead, it’s one of my go-to desserts when I’m hosting people who don’t eat dairy or gluten. To be fair, I added a shot of Kahlua so that I can call it “Mexican” 😉

This makes 4 servings.

 

Ingredients:

1 cup water

pinch of salt

½ cup Arborio rice

2 cups almond milk

1/3 cup sugar

1 shot (about an ounce and a half) Kahlua

1 tsp vanilla extract

1/2 tsp ground cinnamon (more or less, to taste– I like mine with lots of cinnamon)

¼ cup raisins

Note: Contrary to popular belief, Arborio rice is in fact gluten free. 

 

Directions:

1. In a saucepan, bring the water and salt to a boil. Then, add the rice. Stir it often until the water evaporates. When the water has just about entirely evaporated, remove from the stove.

2. In a separate saucepan, boil the almond milk, sugar, vanilla extract, cinnamon, and Kahlua. When it begins to boil, stir in the rice. Lower the heat and allow it to simmer for approximately 20 minutes (until the rice absorbs the almond milk.) Just before you’re ready to take it off the stove, stir in raisins and add some more sugar if necessary. Stir well, let it cool, and then refrigerate so that it sets.

¡Buen Provecho! ¡Viva la Independencia!

6 thoughts on “Arroz con Leche (Rice Pudding; Gluten-free, Dairy-free)

  1. This dessert, as you noted, is rooted in various cultures. Arroz con leche is the Spanish and Hispanic variation, with even further micro variations within. It’s not as simple as “coming up with it.” To say “Mexicans think they did,” sounds, well, uninformed.

    • My apologies, clearly the playful tone in this post is not as obvious as I thought it was. This post wasn’t intended as a lesson in culinary history, it’s just a recipe for Arroz con Leche. Maybe I should have been more specific– as a Mexican who’s been exposed to Mexican food growing up, I consider it part of Mexican cuisine. Thanks for stopping by.

Leave a comment